Nissan X-Trail Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all

Came to my 2007/8 T31 X-Trail 30 mins ago and saw an amber light on the dashboard (photo attached). First time I have seen this (or any other warning light on the Xy - full dealer service history).

Shut down engine and started it again in case it was maybe a one off and would clear but the light stayed on for the 5 mile journey home.

Any ideas what would cause this? I am not a mechanic, so would you recommend heading to my nearest ASAP?

TIA

Del

Attachments

·
Registered
366 Posts
That is the engine management light. I would recommend you get it checked out as soon as possible. It may be nothing serious, but on the other hand it could be. Any half-decent garage or even a friend with a diagnostic tester could get a fault code and see what the problem is. I would not drive the car very far until you find out.

·
Registered
366 Posts
No problem.
I once had mine come on in my Volvo V70. Had it checked out and was told it was the boost pressure solenoid valve, so I replaced it. Very easy job that took me 10 minutes. The light stayed out for 2 days so I took it back and had it checked again. Same problem again! I assumed the replacement one was faulty so I sent it back and got another one, which I then fitted. That one lasted about half a mile before the light came on again. All through all of this the car ran perfectly. As two different garages couldn't find what was wrong with it, in the end I decided to ignore it and the light remained on for a further 5 years and 50,000 miles. Each time I took it for its MOT the tester put the light out for me but it always came back on during the drive home. I never did find out what it was and I sold the car with it on, still driving perfectly. I don't know whether the new owner ever found out what it was, but the car is still on the road and has done another 50,000 miles since, according to the vehicle licencing website.

·