Nissan X-Trail Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2,837 Posts
Do you really get 25% more power and 15% more economy?!

Clearly, they guy has stacks of positive feedback, so you can't be alone!

In my opinion, they're pure snake-oil. I've never yet seen one that backs up their claim with the kind of tests a major manufacturer has to do. I work in the car industry (though not in engine calibration) and I know the lengths a major manufacturer will go to in order to get a 5% improvement in fuel consumption / CO2 emissions (let alone 15%)! I see these guys offer the same box for pretty much any diesel too. I really struggle to believe that ALL the car manufacturers have managed to overlook such a simple way of making three times that saving!

·
Registered
13 Posts
i dont have any experience in tuning xtrails (although i am interested in chipping my 55 dci), but i do have experience with landrover diesel tuning.
the majority of manufacturers do follow the same principle though,

landrover expect their vehicles to be sold all over the world and have to cope with varying levels of diesel quality. eg european diesel is much higher cetane rating than russia, same applies to water and particulate content in the diesel.
Because of this, they tune the vehicles to cope with the lowest common denominator with fuel quality, whilst still maintaining emissions levels that comply with the most stringent markets (think of California for instance!) and also maintain reliability with minimal dealer facilities (back end of australia or africa, russia etc). They also want to factor in fuel consumption and engine power too, so its all a massive compromise!

therefore most ECU driven diesels are very conservatively tuned.