Nissan X-Trail Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the Xtrail and have just purchased a 2.2 dci on an 06 plate from a Nissan dealer and it seems to have the cold engine clatter!! Any advice please. Also It is fitted with Dunlop ST 20, size 215 / 60R17 96H Grandtrek tyres, is this correct?

Regards,
Steve.

·
Registered
186 Posts
tyres are correct what i would do is change the oil to full sync. that mite help but it is the norm for the engine to clatter when 1st start up .... .. dunlops are **** run them on 35psi all round they will wear across the full tread not just the outer edges this will happen if you put the correct psi in them and yes its ok in the wet.....hope this helps...regards..mark

·
Registered
86 Posts
Hi Stevefoster,

My x-trail is also noisey on cold start, it's been to the main dealer but they tell me its
no noisier than others... :whistle:
If you search for some of my older posts you will see there was an update for the ecu which seemed to improve it slightly.

I too have the Dunlops fitted and will be increasing the air pressure to 35psi to
even the wear across the tyre. (thanks for the tip silver25lpg).
I may try the Pirelli Scorpion tyres next when I'm due to change as I hear conflicting
reports on how good the Dunlops are in the wet/mud?? (also there cheaper)

Regards
akastiggy

·
Registered
198 Posts
All Diesel's clatter when cold, just some are better at hiding it, I would not worry about it on the X-Trail.

Never had a problem with the Dunlops either, have stuck with them as they were the original fit and local garage holds them in stock.

·
Registered
13 Posts
I have my X Trail a week and mine clatters too when it is cold. I think it's normal and nothing to worry about. I don't know what oil is in it as I only have it a week, but I will be using 5w30 oil for the next change. This may reduce the clatter time.

·
Registered
115 Posts
Hi all