Nissan X-Trail Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,
New to this forum.
I have an 08 plate Aventura 2.0 Diesel (173) which I have had since new. Last friday i suddenly developed a noise which I can only describe as similar to that wind rushing noise that you get with a roof rack.
It only becomes evident at between 25 to 30mph, stays there at all speeds and seems constant with the vehicle speed, if that makes sense, and goes away when the speed drops under 25mph.
Any ideas please as I am no mechanic?
cheers

Steve

·
Registered
25 Posts
Some suggestions.

1. Open and shut sun roof
2. Similarly check all electric windows close properly ie glass beds into surround properly.
3. Check that all door rubber seals are in place. Compare between doors to get an idea.
4. Bonnet properly located and not raised onto release lever
5. Mud flaps still properly attached.
6. Unusual thought nothing trapped under car such as a branch. They do sometimes stick and make a noise.

Best of luck

John

·
Registered
28 Posts
Have someone stick their head underneath while you pump the accelerator - just to make sure the exhaust doesn't have a leak, as sometimes the blowing sound can be like this from inside.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks guys,

I have done all the door, sunroof, mudflap checks and all are good. I did suspect the exhaust so I will get someone to look at it next monday when I take it in for the recent recall job to be done at the main dealer

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Hi People,

Well the noise issue was sorted after the recall for the steering issue and the 2nd annual service.
The near side front wheel bearing was goosed--------after only 21000 miles. :eek: :eek:

·
Registered
2 Posts
Hi all,