Nissan X-Trail Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
385 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well easter is just round the corner. We have our site booked and we are both looking forward to see how the
x-trail performs on the towing front.

Will hook the van on the back of the X'ey tomorrow as we are both thinking the towbar sits low which may mean our van is down in the front which is a no no for us we like a nice level outfit.

Although our van is a twin axle it's the 620/6 Ranger so it's a light van fully laden something like 1480kg.

Our x-trail being the diesel manual and the 173ps engine should cope fine.

Although coming from previous tow cars the Touareg V10 : D3: Jeep Commander all auto boxes it will be interesting to see just how our X'ey performs.

Will report back.

·
Registered
84 Posts
Hi Scottie

I have limited experience of twin axle caravans but in my experience the hitch height is critical.

You need to measure the noseweight of the caravan at exactly the hitch height (when it's on the car fully laden).

A couple of inches difference in hitch height makes a tremendous difference in noseweight. The noseweight can vary from zero to 200 kgs in a matter of a few inches because of the counterbalance effect of the second axle.

Xacre

·
Registered
385 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hitch height in the end was fine sitting a little low in the front about 3/4 inch down from being level nothing that would worry us.

Nose weight came in a 45kilos. Didn't have much in the van.

The x-trail towed great.

However towing in the gales and snow storms up the A9 on Friday did nothing for our MPG which averaged out at 19mpg.

Coming back down the road today we managed 25.4mpg and would hope on a long motorway run which out the massive hills of the A9 we will get 28+mpg.

·
Registered
84 Posts
M.P.G. is very much speed and wind/rain related.

On the Continent I was getting around 22 mpg (1366 kg single axle) with my 04 dci.

Xacre

·
Registered
385 Posts