Nissan X-Trail Forum banner

Total novice trying to get her head around tuning.....

4K views 4 replies 4 participants last post by  edk_n16 
#1 ·
I am a total novice and only picked up our new X-Trail yesterday (here's my intro thread: http://www.x-trail-uk.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=1629) and have been intrigued to see tuning boxes (sorry if my terminology is wrong!) like this one: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Diesel-Perfor...arts_Vehicles_CarParts_SM?hash=item1c0c8c0f68

I've got a 2004 2.2 dci SVE diesel with (I think 136bhp) and more power and better fuel consumption sounds like it would be great (we don't tow - combination of London driving plus road trips and camping in France). But, I have some questions which may be a bit basic.....

- do they work? Are you all noticing a difference with yours?
- does more expensive = better? There seem to be some around the £90 mark on Ebay and then some getting more pricey, but I can't see the difference between them so not sure which to go for :-?
- are they easy for a total idiot (me :mrgreen: ) to fit?
- are they easy to remove if you want to?
- do you have to tell your insurance company about them and do they affect your insurance?

Sorry for all the questions :roll: :lol: I'd really appreciate your knowledge - many thanks!

See less See more
#2 ·
Hi, i have a 2.2 DI and they are a Bit*h to use a tuning box on, and are very expensive to chip the ECU, if at all possible!

I have tried 2 different tuning boxes from £90 to £120, they work by changing the delivery pressure of the fuel to the injectors, basically pushing more fuel through.
On both these boxes, after a short while my engine went to limp mode, even when adjusting the boxes as directed by the maker, both these boxes were returned for refund.

My latest Box is much more expensive @£320, but works on a mapped program which opens the injectors for a tad longer, in the power range you require (talk to tuner).