Nissan X-Trail Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'am about to take delivery of a new style T31 Tekna.I need a tow bar fitting but i have been told by my normal fitters at Towsure that they don't do a bar for this model yet.I've tried a couple of the local fitters with the same result.Can anyone make any suggestions as i don't want to pay the nissan's massive prices.Cheers Smithy

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Had a ring round.
Has anyone any experience of Westfalia towbars as they seem to be the best priced around my area.cheers Tony

·
Registered
84 Posts
Stephen's right.

Witter have manufactured tow bars for the T31 for over a year now. Good make too!

Sorry, don't know anything about Westfalia, but I assume they must meet the same standards as the other manufacturers.

Xacre

·
Registered
6 Posts
I am a newbie and also new to the forum concept so please forgive any protocol lapses!!!

I would be grateful for any advice re towbar fitment. I have an 09 plate new xtrail and would like to know if fitting the Witter derivative towbar is within the scope of a competent DIY er. I understand that previous models required the rear bumber to be cut - is this the case for the new model with a Witter bar. Thanks for any help

·
Registered
93 Posts
The Witter bar needs a cut. I had mine fitted but you can download fitting instructions from the witter web site to help you judge whether you want to fit one yourself. I think that Westfalia has a bar that does not require a cut and again I think that you can find fitting instructions on the web.

·
Registered
17 Posts
smithy said:
I'am about to take delivery of a new style T31 Tekna.I need a tow bar fitting but i have been told by my normal fitters at Towsure that they don't do a bar for this model yet.I've tried a couple of the local fitters with the same result.Can anyone make any suggestions as i don't want to pay the nissan's massive prices.Cheers Smithy
Hi