Nissan X-Trail Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the world of 4x4 and X-Trails so was wondering if anyone could help with the following?

If in the event of a localised flooding event (which is very common living around the River Trent in South Derbyshire) I know the X-Trail has a wading depth of 350mm what would be the outcome if I somehow managed to enter a depth greather than 35cm but less than 50cm?

Assuming no water enters the tail pipe would I come out the other end?

Thanks
Bambus

·
Registered
1,285 Posts
Is the only air inlet the one just behind the grill at the top of the grill? This is fairly high up, but is there a sneaky lower inlet for say warm engine air when cold? I don't intend to do any wading but it would be nice to know.

·
Registered
120 Posts
The main airbox inlet is behind the nearside headlight, but you also have breathers for the gearbox and rear diff. The gearbox outlet is by the airbox and can be raised easy with extension tubes. The rear one is more hidden and is not very high up hence the recommended wading height. Oil and Water really don't mix well especially in a diff.
I think the Australian Forum has a bit more info on raising the breathers, the main airbox would ideally need a snorkel to wade deeper depths. I dont think there are any commercial ones available so a DIY or mod from another model would be the way to go.

·
Registered
115 Posts
X32garrick said:
You can do a search on our site as well for "SUV Safety School" which was a Nissan sponsored event wherein we put the X-trail thru a grueling obstacle course including a wading pool. Or try this link http://www.clubxph.multiply.com to see more pics and videos from said school :biggrin:
Hey love the videos, the camel humps were really cool, not so sure that I'd do it so quickly but i suppose thats the problem with the Xt - no low box.