Nissan X-Trail Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I'm a newbie on these forums - in fact I don't even own an X-Trail (yet) as I'm still deciding whether to buy one. I've test-driven one and done lots of research and it seems like a pretty good option - except one thing... one seemingly VERY big thing: The turbo / intercooler problems!

From what I've read, it seems that everyone who ever bought an X-Trail has had major problems - and sometimes expense - because of these parts failing and needing replacement.

Have any members NOT had this problem? With these issues, would anyone still recommend buying an X-Trail? Would you buy another one?

If I do buy an X-Trail it would be an 06-07 plate, do these still have the problem or has Nissan fixed it on the newer models?

Thanks
Ian

·
Registered
30 Posts
I have had no problems with mine so far. Think its going to need a new bearing on the front drivers side soon, and the rear arches are starting to rust, which is admittedly not great on a four year old car. The rust could be down to a dodgy accident repair on mine though. One of my colleagues has a 53 plate thats covered 77K and he has had no major problems with either.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for your responses guys.

The salesman at my local garage assures me that the problems have been fixed in the later models - although he is a salesman!

In any case, he also told me that Nissan have recognised that there was a problem and have extended the warranty for these parts to five years.

Ian

·
Registered
86 Posts
supasox said:
Thanks for your responses guys.

The salesman at my local garage assures me that the problems have been fixed in the later models - although he is a salesman!

In any case, he also told me that Nissan have recognised that there was a problem and have extended the warranty for these parts to five years.

Ian
Hi Ian,

I'm led to believe the extended warranty for the turbo only is 5years or 93,000 miles