It is currently Sat Nov 28, 2020 11:42 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]






Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Anyone replaced a T31 standard head unit?
PostPosted: Sun Dec 15, 2013 10:16 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2013 5:01 pm
Posts: 9
Only had my T31 Aventura a week now. It doesn't have the sat nav.
Just the 6 disc in dash changer with Bluetooth.

This all works very well, but a lot of the music I have is digital.
So I'm considering changing it for an aftermarket double din unit.

Couple of questions:
I've had a quick look but cant work out how to get the stereo out?
Secondly, steering wheel controls - I don't want to lose these, I assume there are adapters out there from the likes of Connects2 etc that will allow these to work with aftermarket stereos?

Has anyone has any experience with swapping the original unit?

Thanks
Chris


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
X-Trail-UK.co.uk
Advertisement
My Photo Gallery
 Post subject: Re: Anyone replaced a T31 standard head unit?
PostPosted: Mon Dec 16, 2013 9:05 am 
Offline
Xtrail Nut
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 3:42 pm
Posts: 3233
Location: The Netherlands, Maartensdijk, centre of the country
Car:: Nissan X-Trail
Model: 1.6 Tekna 2 wheel drive
Year/Plate: 2018
Colour: Dark Brown
Mods: Dark brown with broken white upholstery. Tow-hook, fire extinguisher, LED Matrix headlights, LED interior and boot-light, handmade semi leather back-seat cover (dogs), booth-liner, wind deflectors, 4 seasons tires, BOSE audio + sub-woofer, Class 3 alarm
If it has the navigation unit too, it's gonna be a difficult job I presume... Otherwise it can be done; there are all kind DIN connectors to help you with. Succes!

_________________
Music, music, music, that's my passion!!!!


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Anyone replaced a T31 standard head unit?
PostPosted: Mon Dec 16, 2013 2:05 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2013 5:01 pm
Posts: 9
Its not the navigation system. Its the in-dash 6 disc changer.

I'd like the sat nav unit but not sure if its retro-fittable.
Also, does it have an aux in?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
My Photo Gallery
 Post subject: Re: Anyone replaced a T31 standard head unit?
PostPosted: Tue Dec 17, 2013 8:47 am 
Offline
Xtrail Nut
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 3:42 pm
Posts: 3233
Location: The Netherlands, Maartensdijk, centre of the country
Car:: Nissan X-Trail
Model: 1.6 Tekna 2 wheel drive
Year/Plate: 2018
Colour: Dark Brown
Mods: Dark brown with broken white upholstery. Tow-hook, fire extinguisher, LED Matrix headlights, LED interior and boot-light, handmade semi leather back-seat cover (dogs), booth-liner, wind deflectors, 4 seasons tires, BOSE audio + sub-woofer, Class 3 alarm
Don't know, since I have a T-30. Call your dealer I would say...

_________________
Music, music, music, that's my passion!!!!


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Anyone replaced a T31 standard head unit?
PostPosted: Tue Dec 17, 2013 9:19 am 
Offline
Xtrail Nut
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 6:44 am
Posts: 575
Location: South Africa, Pretoria
Car:: Xtrail
Model: T31 2.0l MR20DE manual 6 gears
Year/Plate: 2008
Colour: White
Mods: Unichip, cruise control, windows tinted, bonnet+headlight shields
Dear McMillan,

Other members will assist you better if your profile is completed should you need help in future. You can get the info at:
viewtopic.php?f=38&t=4901

I changed my head unit which was a Clarion to a single din. I got the necessary wiring from the USA after searching the internet. I list the 2 references to help you get the idea.
http://www.amazon.com/Metra-40-NI12-Nis ... B000PANZ7U
http://www.amazon.com/Metra-70-7552-Wir ... &carId=001

I took a chance on the wiring as it was not very expensive and my sister visited from the USA and brought the 2 items along.
Also look on the Australian forum. http://baustralianxtrail.runboard.com/t123862. The fourth post by Jalalski (click on the word here) with the file gave me pointers what to search for to do the similar for my replacement even though the post is for the T30 model.

The plastic cover around the head unit comes loose when mild force applied first with a broad flat screw driver at the bottom. Wedge it and be careful not to damage. Go around and loosen from bottom to top. Thereafter wiggle it up and down until it comes loose. Take off the wiring on the emergency lights and remove 4 screws so that the head unit can be removed. Refer the website and post of Gary Williams http://www.carstereoremoval.com/htm/ste ... _10Str.htm

Hope the above may help you.

_________________
Johan (jcvdsa)
X-Trail XE 2l Petrol T31 2008 MR20DE


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Anyone replaced a T31 standard head unit?
PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2014 10:10 pm 
Offline
Soft Roader
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 12:18 pm
Posts: 20
Hi chris, I'm interested to see how this goes, I'm also thinking of doing the same (I have had my Aventurer 2 days)

I looking at the Parrot Astroid Smart

Thanks


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Anyone replaced a T31 standard head unit?
PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2014 8:48 am 
Offline
Xtrail Nut
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2009 3:04 pm
Posts: 1026
Location: Oxfordshire
Car:: X-Trail
Model: Sport Expedition Extreme - Diesel 173 - Manual
Year/Plate: 2009 / 59
Colour: Thundercloud
Mods: Nerside rearview mirror replaced for with one with blind-spot mirror (genuine Nissan part for an LHD X-Trail), DRLs (proper ones that dim at night), LED sidelights, Front+Rear DashCam
I thought all Aventuras had SatNav as standard as it was part of the Aventura spec :?: :?: :?:

_________________
John Willett
Sound-Link ProAudio Ltd.
Circle Sound Services


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Anyone replaced a T31 standard head unit?
PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2014 11:03 am 
Offline
Off Roader

Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2013 8:54 am
Posts: 164
Location: Estonia
Car:: T31
Model: Diesel auto
Year/Plate: 2008
Colour: pearl white
Mods: Pedders lift, 235/65R17 tires, RH ZW 1 split wheels, ECU reflash, Major audio upgrade....
I have satnav unit and I'm gonna replace it soon because it sounds really hopeless when I have installed 5 channel amp and high-end speakers.
I do not see any problems swapping it. Of course in my case I have only pin-out power wire and that's pretty much it. Signal going to speakers through RCA cables, steering wheel controls have separate cable so that's gonna be easy. Reverse camera switch and video cable must be pinned out from OEM cable as well. That's pretty much it.
Now I'm thinking of putting OEM LCD screen in use as secondary display for GPS. Many 2 DIN GPS/DVD receivers out there support several displays and maybe I can select which picture to send to which display. Not sure though how this will work out but I'll try with my "personal electronics geek".

If you are planning to replace only HU and leave everything stock then there are several units out there with Nissan (T31 compatible) plug & play cables.
Android 4.0 capacitive touch head unit for Nissan


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
My Photo Gallery
 Post subject: Re: Anyone replaced a T31 standard head unit?
PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2014 2:06 pm 
Offline
Xtrail Nut
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 3:42 pm
Posts: 3233
Location: The Netherlands, Maartensdijk, centre of the country
Car:: Nissan X-Trail
Model: 1.6 Tekna 2 wheel drive
Year/Plate: 2018
Colour: Dark Brown
Mods: Dark brown with broken white upholstery. Tow-hook, fire extinguisher, LED Matrix headlights, LED interior and boot-light, handmade semi leather back-seat cover (dogs), booth-liner, wind deflectors, 4 seasons tires, BOSE audio + sub-woofer, Class 3 alarm
Nice unit. Have look to this (kind) a while ago. But, to build it in.... looks like a great job. I do several things myself, but I think I let it do when I buy one... :thumbs:

_________________
Music, music, music, that's my passion!!!!


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: Anyone replaced a T31 standard head unit?
PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2014 2:08 pm 
Offline
Soft Roader
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 12:18 pm
Posts: 20
John Willett wrote:
I thought all Aventuras had SatNav as standard as it was part of the Aventura spec :?: :?: :?:


I have a 2010 Aventura explorer extreme without Sat Nav :(


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group