It is currently Tue Apr 13, 2021 8:36 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: 2.5 performance upgrades
PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2013 7:49 pm 
Soft Roader

Ok, random question this is just out of curiosity, has anyone added any performance modifications to the engine on their 2.5's? I'm not really familiar with the engine although I have owned an Almera GTI and a s14a running 300hp. We have the obvious breathing mods and I know that it's not exactly a speed machine, plus isn't designed for that, but just out of curiosity?

Profile Send private message  

X-Trail-UK.co.uk
Advertisement
 Post subject: Re: 2.5 performance upgrades
PostPosted: Thu Oct 31, 2013 8:04 pm 
Xtrail Nut

I'm no expert on the QR25DE engine, but I'd imagine that the block is the same that is used across other models in V Spec form.

I see this company offer a turbo kit http://www.treadstoneperformance.com/vi ... +Kit+02-06

This perhaps indicates that the block is offered in both non turbo and turbo guise.

Kind regards,

Eoin

PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2013 10:15 am 
Soft Roader

Car:: Xtrail
Model: T30 2.0 petrol auto
Year/Plate: 03/2003
Colour: blue
Mods: none deliberate
Interesting question, Salty.
I've got the 2.0 auto and don't find it lacking in performance except on motorway gradients, when it tends to kick out the overdrive. But it's a high revving engine.

I've looked at the cars advertised for sale from Japan, and could be tempted by an X-Trail GT, with the 280HP 2.0 turbo engine. They are relatively scarce, but if Nissan can get that sort of power from a 2 litre engine then it should be possible to uprate a 2.5

Apart from induction kits and exhausts there doesn't seem to be a lot out there for the XT petrol engines. But if you look at the Primera owners club blog there's stacks of stuff.

PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2013 11:14 am 
Xtrail Nut

SteveB48 wrote: